PUBLIC NOTICE:  Effective May 19, 2020, City Hall and the Public Works Building will be open to the public. Our new operating hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday to Friday. Please note that all required precautionary measures will be in place, including limiting numbers of people attending the building to ensure we can safely observe physical distancing guidelines. The Gary Moe SportsplexKinsmen Aquatic Centre, and Lacombe Memorial Centre are still closed to the public at this time.

City Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

2017 21 Council 1

About City Council

Lacombe's City Council is made up of a Mayor and six Councillors, who are elected for a four-year term. The positions are filled through an at-large election, meaning that each person elected represents the community as a whole, and not a particular ward or section of the city.

The Municipal Government Act sets out the powers of municipal governments. The Mayor is the Chief Elected Official of the municipality, and has duties as both Councillor and Mayor.  In the Mayor's absence, a Deputy Mayor is assigned.  At the beginning of the term, a rotation schedule will be created to determine when each Councillor will act as Deputy Mayor.

The Chief Administrative Officer is the only employee who reports to the Mayor and Council. This position is responsible for overseeing the day-to-day operations of the City, including municipal employees.

For more information about City Council or the legislative process, please contact:

Legislative Coordinator City Hall
5432 - 56 Avenue Lacombe, AB  T4L 1E9

Phone: (403) 782-6666
Fax: (403) 782-5655

City Council Agendas & Minutes